How you can Put WordPress in a Read Only Mode (The Easy Way)

Do you wish your WordPress site to be in a read only mode?

By freezing your site’s content, you possibly can make certain that nobody changes anything in your website, even in the event that they normally have edit access. This will assist you avoid errors, conflicts, and confusion if you’re making changes to your website.

In this text, we are going to show you the way you possibly can put your WordPress site in a read only mode for site migrations and maintenance.

Why Put Your WordPress Site in a Read Only State for Site Migrations and Maintenance

You possibly can tweak quite a lot of settings in your WordPress website without stopping visitors from accessing the location. Nonetheless, if you’re making a giant change to your website, it’s idea to place your site right into a read only state. 

For instance, in the event you’re moving WordPress to a recent host or server, upgrading to a new edition of WordPress, or installing a recent theme, then it may affect the user experience and stop your site from working normally.

Organising read only mode can assist you avoid losing any data or content that’s added to your site when you’re making the change. You furthermore mght prevent frustration from a poor user experience when features don’t work right.

For instance, if someone is writing a recent post within the WordPress dashboard when you’re migrating to a recent server, then all of their labor could also be lost. Or perhaps a user can’t add products to their cart or checkout, so that they leave your site.

That said, let’s take a have a look at the perfect method to put your WordPress site in read-only mode to forestall those issues.

How you can Put Your WordPress Site in a Read Only State for Site Migrations and Maintenance

There are a number of dedicated content freeze or read-only mode plugins available, but they’re all currently outdated and never actively maintained by their developers.

That’s why we recommend using the Lock User Account plugin as an alternative.

This is ideal for membership sites, online stores, or every other kind of site that permits user registration.

This plugin helps you to temporarily lock any user out of their WordPress account. Anyone who’s locked out of their account won’t have the opportunity to edit the location’s content or add any recent content, although visitors will still have the opportunity to see the website.

If a user tries to log right into a locked account, then they’ll see a message simply stating ‘Your account has been locked.’ You possibly can customize this message to offer your users more information.

A locked WordPress user account

Now, using this plugin doesn’t actually freeze your site or prevent database changes. That’s why we also recommend temporarily disabling your comments and any contact forms in your site as well. We’ll show you how you can do this below.

First, you’ll have to install and activate the Lock User Account plugin. When you need assistance, then please see our guide on how you can install a WordPress plugin.

Before starting the content freeze, you possibly can change the message that users will see if they fight to log right into a locked account. For instance, it is advisable to explain that you simply’re changing your domain name or doing essential maintenance.

To alter the default ‘Your account has been locked’ error message, simply head over to Settings » General.

The WordPress general settings page

Towards the underside of the screen, you’ll see a recent ‘Lock User Account’ section.

You possibly can now simply type a recent message into the ‘Locked User Message’ field. When you’re comfortable with the message, just click on the ‘Save Changes’ button.

Creating a custom WordPress login message

After that, you’re able to put your site into read-only mode.

To go ahead and begin locking users out of their account, head over to Users » All Users.

A list of WordPress user accounts

On this screen, you’ll see all of the individuals who have an account on the location.

The ‘Locked’ column shows whether each user currently has access to their account (unlocked) or not (locked).

A locked WordPress user account

To go ahead and temporarily lock a user out of their account, just click to envision the box next to their profile picture.

If you desire to lock multiple people out of their accounts, then click to pick out multiple boxes.

Adding a content freeze to multiple WordPress user accounts

After choosing a number of usernames, click on the ‘Bulk actions’ dropdown after which select ‘Lock.’

If you’re able to go ahead and lock these people out of their accounts, click on the ‘Apply’ button.

Putting a WordPress site into a read only state

Now, the location is basically in read only mode on your users, and if anyone with a locked account who tries to log in will get an error message.

When you’ve finished your work, you possibly can unlock the user accounts. Simply return to Users » All Users and repeat the method above. Only this time, make sure to select ‘Unlock’ from the ‘Bulk Actions’ dropdown.

After that, you possibly can click the ‘Apply’ button to reactivate these accounts.

Unfreezing WordPress user accounts

How you can Temporarily Disable Comments and Form Entries

Before you begin your site migration or other big changes, you’ll also wish to temporarily disable comments and form entries in your site. If someone submits a comment or form in the midst of your changes, that data could be lost.

To temporarily disable comments quickly and simply in your whole site, we recommend using WPCode.

Simply install and activate the free WPCode snippets plugin after which navigate to Code Snippets » Add Snippet.

From here, you possibly can click on the Comments category within the left menu after which click on ‘Use snippet’ under ‘Completely Disable Comments’.

WPCode snippet to completely disable comments on your WordPress site

On the subsequent screen, all you have to do is ready the toggle from Inactive to Lively.

Then, click the Update button and your snippet shall be live.

WPCode activate snippet

When you’d prefer to disable comments manually and not using a plugin, you possibly can see our step-by-step guide on how you can completely disable comments in WordPress.

We also recommend temporarily disabling any contact forms or other forms in your website. You possibly can simply remove the shape and replace it with what you are promoting email address temporarily so that you simply don’t miss out on any necessary messages.

At this point, you’re able to migrate your site or do essential maintenance work without worrying about conflicts and errors.

BONUS: How you can Create Beautiful Maintenance Pages in WordPress

Along with locking user accounts and securing forms and comments, you can too put your site into maintenance mode, so nobody can access the first content.

A well-designed maintenance page can explain exactly why your site is is in a read only state, and when visitors can expect it to return back online.

That is where SeedProd is available in. It’s the perfect drag-and-drop page builder for WordPress, and it means that you can create a totally custom maintenance page.

You should use the free version of SeedProd to create a gorgeous maintenance mode page.

The SeedProd Pro homepage

For more details, you possibly can see our guide on how you can put your WordPress site in maintenance mode.

We hope this text helped you learn how you can put your WordPress site in read only mode for site migrations and maintenance. You can even undergo our guide on the perfect live chat software for small businesses and how you can allow user registration in your WordPress site.

When you liked this text, then please subscribe to our YouTube Channel for WordPress video tutorials. You can even find us on Twitter and Facebook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.